New Zealand

New Zealand

Movie: The Lord of the Rings: the Fellowship of the Ring

 
Review: Holy long movie.

Why does a movie need to be more than three hours long when it has multiple sequels. Heck, why does it have to be over two hours long!? The story did absolutely nothing for me in more than the first half. All it did was confuse me, and I went into it after having read the Hobbit. Here’s a tip, if the beginning prologue/story is longer than five minutes, you probably should make a movie about that whole thing first. If I didn’t know what a blockbuster hit this one was, I would have shut off the DVD then and there. (Yes, I still use DVD’s)

That brings me to my next point. I’m a huge movie lover, as you can probably tell from this blog. But honestly, I’m not getting the whole thing with these movies. Yes, so far I’ve only seen the first one, but did I mention it’s three hours long? It goes off on random tangents and there’s just way too much going on, but in the end, all they accomplished was make a few friends, which he leave behind? And really… Trolls, goblins, elves, dwarves, and now we’re gonna add in a few of our own made up species too? Yikes!

It’s too much.

I will say, that the artwork is beautifully done and the actors are for the most part believable, but there’s there’s way too much of it.

AND, I know that this wasn’t the doing of the creators of the movie, but why do hobbits eat so much and they’re still teeny tiny? Breakfast, second breakfast, elevensies,… And seriously, they live for hundreds of years, I’m sure they could have figured out how to craft shoes. Really.

Rating: 3.5 paws out of 5. Maybe you should read the books first???

  

Paleo Iced Coffee: Made with coffee, coconut milk, cocoa powder, and ice (maybe cream and sugar). You have to drink it right away before it separates but holy cow. Incredible. I recommend it. I can’t remember the actual recipe, but I’m sure you can find it on the web with those ingredients.

Mediterranean crescent ‘ring’: You can use Pillsbury, but I made the dough from scratch. It wasn’t as difficult as I thought and it tastes the same as store bought. I got the recipe on allrecipes.com. The ring is filled with spinach, peppers, cheese. It’s very good. It’s a great idea for a party or having guests over and it rips apart easily.

Apple Cinnamon Rings: These were not good at all. It’s a good idea in theory, but the texture isn’t right.

And for the LOTR night, we went to New Zealand, the place the movies were filmed. I made a “Lolly Log”. It WOULD HAVE been good, but the biscuits I used were not that tasty. My biggest issue with it was trying to get it to stick together. Although it does harden in the fridge, I had to add a lot of flour to get it into any sort of shape.
 Typical.    

Leave a Reply

