St. Helena/ An Affair to Remember

St. Helena/ An Affair to Remember

 

 Movie: An Affair to Remember, starring Cary Grant.

Review: The movie so many others were modelled after, including Sleepless in Seatle. As with many movies, the beginning is very slow, but Cary’s fast- talking charisma keeps me tuned in. About maybe a quarter of the way in, it kicks into high gear, with a bang. Literally! I totally wasn’t expecting that. So we start off on a boat where two separately engaged people meet and have that instant connection. Okay, pretty standard. Here’s the thing I don’t understand. They keep acting surprised when they run into each other. YOU’RE ON A BOAT. How far do you think you’re going to get without running into each other? Also, it was the fifties. It’s not exactly the cruise ships they build today. You’re going to see each other, assuming you leave you’re room.

And then there’s the fact that everyone is watching them. I get the fact that they’re marrying into money so they are people to be watching, but come on guys, where’s the subtlety? I know it’s fairly stupid to be complaining about a movie that came out 60 years ago, but I wasn’t alive back then. So I have to do it now.

Anyway, the next part does get more interesting, but I do have a complaint about the ending. It seems like we’re missing the last thirty seconds or so. You really want to end this epic romance with a hug? Come on.

Those kids though. Adorable.

Rating: 4 out of 5 paws

The food: 

 

Iced hot chocolate: SO simple. Make your favorite hot chocolate, cool and chill it, mix with ice cream. Done.

Surprisingly not as disgusting as I expected. Actually, I would make it again, especially a time when there are kids around. Nah bad.

Cookie pizza: Also pretty easy. Make a giant cookie, (you can buy rolled dough if you don’t want to make your own), add your toppings. I used chocolate icing for the “sauce” , icing sugar for “cheese” and m&ms for the “pepperoni”. Again, kid friendly recipe, and it is delicious. You can change the ingredients to make it healthier (or not) as you like.

 

Eggplant pizza: Yes please. It’s the right amount of healthy and greasy to still be a good movie night food. Totally will make these again. They taste as good as the look.  

http://www.closetcooking.com/2013/09/eggplant-pizzas.html

My trip this week took me to St. Helena. This is my 10th country so far!! I had a bit of a hard time finding something this time, but from what I gather these are a very popular dessert, and are usually present at most special occasions.

Coconut fingers: As far as my foreign desserts go, this one is pretty easy. I always make everything from scratch on movie night, but I see no reason why you couldn’t just make (or buy) any kind of cake, cut it in strips, frost them, and roll in coconut to make these little cuties. I like that there’s no coconut In them, only not the outside. This way the coconut doesn’t overpower the cake. Good recipe, I’ll hang on to this one.

 http://papersandcakes.blogspot.ca/2013_01_01_archive.html

 

And my date in his adorable hoodie with pig backpack. I mean…

I CAN’T EVEN.

 

  

  

  

Thanks for reading!

P.S. We’re now on Facebook, so do what you gotta do.   

Leave a Reply

