Romancing the Stone

Romancing the Stone

The movie: romancing the stone

Review: I wanted to watch an old action movie and that’s exactly what I got. It started off pretty decent, but cliche, a romance novelist unable to find love herself, but it quickly got darker than I had expected. The story plot is a bit unrealistic (even for an adventure movie) and it didn’t really explain a few random things. (I.e. Where was the bus actually going to go had it not broken down?) also, it’s supposed to star Michael Douglas. He didn’t even show up until a half hour in! The action scenes were pretty good, kept short and to the point, except for the hand-to-hand combat scenes. Those were so fake, I actually laughed out loud and woke up sleeping beauty:



At one point it actually looked like the actors were just waiting for the other to strike. Also, the dance scene… Neither of you should dance on screen again. I was embarrassed for you. And I know this has nothing to do with it, but why a white suit? Don’t you know that you’re going to get that dirty in about five minutes? Come on now. On the plus side, these two were actually believable as a couple, and Danny devito added some much needed humor. So, at least there’s that..

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. It’ll do in a pinch, but I don’t know how this movie got a sequel.

The food:





I’ll start with my least favorite and work my way up.

The burgers were made from scratch, buns and all. They were very bland. I probably wouldn’t use this recipe again.

http://southernfood.about.com/od/appetizerbreads/r/bl61210h.htm

Apple pie fries: were good tasting, but they wouldn’t stay closed the way they are pictured. Also, while okay with caramel sauce, I’d much rather have them with whipped cream or ice cream. 



http://www.sweetdailyblog.com/apple-pie-fries/

The S’more Nachos were good. I didn’t realize you could cook marshmallows this way without them expanding. Easy indoor recipe. Likely to make again. 

https://m.facebook.com/Ziploc/photos/a.329236260422251.86205.138845922794620/936340619711809/?type=1&theater



My around-the-world recipe this week was Bizcocho Dominicano (Dominican)

The recipe I used was really hard to make. Having had made it the first time, I could probably be able to make adjustments and do it much better the second time, however the amount of work that goes into this for the product, it’s probably not worth it for me. It’s really just cake with a pineapple marmalade-type filling. I’m sure there are much easier ways to make it. It did taste very good though.

http://www.dominicancooking.com/1001-bizcocho-dominicano-dominican-cake.html



The best part was the Orange Julius copycat. If you like orange Julius, or orange creamsicle a, you should try this. It was a big hit in my house (and that’s coming from a bunch of picky eaters!)



http://thefrugalgirls.com/2014/07/copycat-orange-julius-recipe.html



As a thank you for reading. Please enjoy this free picture of my guinea pig’s selfie.



Leave a Reply

