Vampire Academy/ Mockingjay

Vampire Academy/ Mockingjay

Double feature night!



The movies:

Vampire Academy

Review: If you haven’t read the books, you’re missing out. Yes, it’s more vampires, but there is a lot more story to it than that and I’m loving the forbidden romance. This movie is severely underrated. It’s dark, but funny, and it’s not as quite as predictable. It is entertaining, but some of the characters could have been casted. That said, the movie was very similar to the first book. Sadly, it did not do that well in theatres, so don’t expect a sequel any time soon.

Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

MockingJay Part One: Being the third movie of this series, I would have expected much less than with the previous movies. Since this movie is only based on the first half of the last book, I didn’t expect much action. The movie is essential to connect the last movie and set up the next one, but it didn’t bore either. It is a bit slow-going at first, but the action in this movie will keep you on your toes. I’m loving this series. It stays true to the books and the fight sequences are completely realistic.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Food:



First, Chocolate cake. I decided not to frost them, so I left them in the pans, but they were delicious. Even without frosting, they were not dry at all. 

Recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Extreme-Chocolate-Cake/Detail.aspx?evt19=1&referringHubId=276&scale=6&ismetric=0

For my trip around the world, this time I made chocolate babkas from Poland. They look like a bread, are made like a cinnamon roll (with chocolate instead) and taste like a pastry. I’m likely to make these again, but I would use more chocolate next time.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/chocolate-babka-236707

I made single serving ratatouille with my favorite vegetables. I used eggplant, zucchini, potato, and tomato, topped with parmesan cheese. Definately making these again. They’re adorbale too!



 

I also made two copycat recipes.  Red lobster’s cheese biscuits, and McDonald’s Shamrock shake.

The cheese biscuits were good, but didn’t have a whole lot of flavor.Probably not likely to make these again, but I’m not a huge biscuit lover. 



http://damndelicious.net/2014/02/03/red-lobster-cheddar-bay-biscuits/

The Shamrock shake tasted exactly like Mcdonald’s version, and it is SOOOO easy to make. I might make one right now!





http://www.theslowroasteditalian.com/2013/03/best-ever-shamrock-shake-revisited.html

And of course, mister kitty couldn’t keep his eyes open.



Comments? Questions? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

